Skip to content
Tags

MinGW bugs under Windows Vista

October 19, 2007

(Edit: 1 November 2007)
Found out this is a bug of MinGW, and has nothing to do with Dev-C++.

Recently I installed Dev-C++ under Windows Vista, but when I try to compile the template DLL, it gives the following error in compile log.

gcc.exe: installation problem, cannot exec `cc1′: No such file or directory

In Dev-C++, go to Tools -> Compiler Options -> Directories -> Binaries, add this following directory
\Dev-Cpp\libexec\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2

Compile the project again. Okay, now what?

ld: crt2.o: No such file: No such file or directory
ld: dllcrt2.o: No such file: No such file or directory
ld: crtbegin.o: No such file: No such file or directory
ld: crtend.o: No such file: No such file or directory
ld: cannot find -lgcc

(Update: 1 November 2007)
To workaround this errors, you need to do the following steps:

  1. Copy dllcrt2.o and crt2.o from \Dev-Cpp\lib to \MinGW\lib.
  2. Copy crtbegin.o and crtend.o from \Dev-Cpp\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2 (version may vary depending on your mingw version) to \MinGW\lib.
  3. In Dev-C++, go to Tools -> Compiler Options -> Directories -> Libraries, add this following directory
    \Dev-Cpp\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2
    (again, version may vary depending on your mingw version)

Compile your project, it should work now. Now I try to compile the C version, oh no more errors.

In file included from dllmain.c:3:
C:/Dev-Cpp/include/windows.h:47:20: stdarg.h: No such file or directory
In file included from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/winnt.h:37,
from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/windef.h:253,
from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/windows.h:48,
from dllmain.c:3:
C:/Dev-Cpp/include/string.h:24:20: stddef.h: No such file or directory
In file included from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/winnt.h:37,
from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/windef.h:253,
from C:/Dev-Cpp/include/windows.h:48,
from dllmain.c:3:

blah blah blah

Here’s the fix. In Dev-C++, go to Tools -> Compiler Options -> Directories -> C Includes, add this directory
\Dev-Cpp\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2\include
(I dont want to repeat that again)

Okay now everything is working. Hopefully these should solve your problem regarding compiling with Dev-C++ under Windows Vista.

From → C++, Coding

24 Comments
  1. 0xman permalink

    Thank you , very useful !

  2. NeWZzZzzz permalink

    Useful, but it’s so tedious to paste those 3 files everytime…

  3. Well, I cant find any other workaround. It seems to be a bug of Dev-C++, and too bad the project been inactive, so bear with it.

  4. Omniyo permalink

    Muchas gracias…i’m a spanish studient & i couldn’t find how to run dev-c++ under windows vista…thank you again!!!

  5. Okay so I found a better workaround. You no longer need to copy crt2.o and dllcrt2.o to your project folder each time. Read up the updated post.

  6. Christoffer permalink

    What a relief!

    finally after several hours of reading obscure posts in even more obscure forums, reading through a good portion of the gnu gcc manual and hitting my head against the desk, i stumble upon this solution. Funny that I did’nt even realize it was a bug.

    Thank you very much!

  7. Martin permalink

    Hi!

    I got the “dllcrt2.o” error in two cases, and could resolve it as follows:

    First I tried to link a DLL written in C. The error was gone after I added the directory containing sh.exe to Compiler Options/Directories/Binaries.

    But it came back when I then tried to link a C++ DLL. To fix this, I checked “Add these commands to the linker command line” in Compiler Options/Compiler and entered the following line:
    -B E:/Programme/MinGW/lib -B E:/Programme/MinGW/lib/gcc/mingw32/3.4.5

    (Now you know I’m German.) Of course, you’ll have to replace E:/Programme/MinGW with your path to MinGW.

    The second path is necessary for some other files such as crtbegin.o. BTW, I cleared Compiler Options/Directories/Libraries afterwards, and it still worked.

    About how I found this:

    I used SysInternals’ Process Monitor to find out what the compiler/linker was doing and where it was searching the files. It seems that the error occurs whenever the command line for gcc.exe looks like:
    gcc …
    instead of:
    E:/Programme/MinGW/bin/gcc.exe …
    The same applies to c++.exe.

    That is, given its own location on the command line, gcc.exe/c++.exe seems to know better where to search for the required files.

    For the C DLL before the fix, the commands used were:
    mingw32-make.exe
    cmd (with a batch file)
    dllwrap.exe
    gcc

    (mingw32-make called cmd, cmd called dllwrap,…)

    After I added the MSYS bin directory in Dev-C++, sh.exe became visible to mingw32-make, and the commands changed to:
    mingw32-make.exe
    E:/Programme/MSys/bin/sh.exe
    E:/Programme/MinGW/bin/dllwrap.exe
    E:/Programme/MinGW/bin/gcc.exe

    That worked with the C DLL. But for the C++ case, dllwrap was called with the option:
    –driver-name c++
    Consequently, it the commands were:
    mingw32-make.exe
    E:/Programme/MSys/bin/sh.exe
    E:/Programme/MinGW/bin/dllwrap.exe
    c++

    I could not find any way to change this to a full path (E:/Programme/MinGW/bin/c++.exe) except hacking the Makefile.win that Dev-C++ had generated, which obviously isn’t very convenient.

    So I looked at “c++ –help”, found the -B option and used it as shown above. (It also works for gcc.exe.) Things can be so easy.
    I could now probably even let cmd be used again, but I feel better with sh.

    Finally, a little about my configuration, in case it matters:

    I have Vista 32-bit Home Premium, Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2, MSYS 1.0.10 and the “Current” releases of the MinGW packages (gcc 3.4.5) installed.

    I’m using mingw32-make.exe with that name (no make.exe).

    Note that I did not add MinGW to PATH, but configured the paths in Compiler Options/Directories/Binaries.

    Have a nice day!

  8. Markus Bussmann permalink

    Very useful, as I have a class of students installing Dev-C++ on Windows, and the Vista users are suffering.

    One question. My install doesn’t include \MingW, because I installed the Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2 that includes MingW. Which means I can’t copy crt2.o, dllcrt2.o, crtbegin.o and crtend.o as you describe in your update of Nov 1.

    Suggestions?

  9. If there isnt one, create one. 🙂 You just have to copy the 3 files described above to the new folder.

  10. zlucoblij permalink

    Guys, thanks a million for usefull pieces of advice. Finally have Dev-Cpp compiling on Vista!!! Can’t belive my eyes 😀

    THANKS!

  11. You’re welcome. 🙂 Glad it helped.

  12. ghazali permalink

    im use Dev c++ in vista home premium edtion.when i try to compile the program that i wrote, source not compiled is appear. im already save the program that i write..but still cannot compiled.. can you help me?

  13. Fro permalink

    Someone should make a .bat file and put it up. It would be a good fix. You could even make an .exe if you could be bothered.

  14. Peter permalink

    I copied the files crt2.0, dllcrt2.0, crtbegin.0 and crtend.0 to the project folder path. And now I only get the error message cannot find -lgcc. Any ideas how to fix this?

    Thanks

  15. Peter permalink

    Its ok, I got it working now.

    Under Tools > Compiler Options > Directories > Binaries and Libraries, I needed to add:
    C:\Dev-Cpp\lib\gcc\mingw32\3.4.2

    Thanks a million. That was great!

    Peter

  16. Pedro permalink

    Tnks a lot, this post helped me so much!!!

  17. David permalink

    I got it working, but i still have to copy “crt2.o” , “crtbegin.o”, “crtend.o” and “dllcrt2.o” to the project folder. any ideas?

  18. Fabio permalink

    Thanks, Martin. The -B option worked in Eclipse CDT (Mingw[32] and Vista 64).

  19. Zach permalink

    I am still stuck with the “ld: crt2.o: No such file: No such file or directory” error, even after doing everything you said to. I didn’t have a C:\Dev-Cpp\MingW\lib folder, so I made one and put the files there, and I also put them in C:\Dev-Cpp\mingw32\lib, which already existed. I don’t know what to do at this point. I have an old computer sitting around that I can format and throw xp onto, but that would be the epitome of annoying. I think I’m gonna write an angry letter to Microsoft: “Vista WTF??? ‘Nuff Said.” I mean seriously, WTF is wrong with Vista? Have they never heard of backwards compatibility? I have to submit working .exe’s for an online class I’m taking in C. I’m already well versed in Java, so I figured I’d make the jump (77th in Texas for highschool java programmers w00t).

  20. Zach permalink

    Nevermind, I figured it out

  21. Weslei A. de T. Marinho permalink

    An easier workaround may be found in http://aresio.blogspot.com/2007/06/vista-and-dev-cpp.html
    But thanks for sharing your knowledgement.

    Best regards.

  22. Aaron permalink

    Wow! It worked! Thank-you!!

  23. Jhon Mnemonik permalink

    Cool man! Great stuff your info only one who worked for me! Thank you very much! Internet roool’s!

  24. Minexew permalink

    I think much better solution is to simply use wxDev-C++ instead of the old abandoned Dev-C++ (http://wxdsgn.sourceforge.net/)

Leave a Reply

